Off the Grid: Living Blind Without the Internet

The Off the Grid book cover, featuring a white cane tapping out the title on a laptop keyboard
Book cover for Off the Grid

Journalist Robert Kingett accepts a dare: one that at first seems simple… to adapt to his blindness without the Internet. This account is a cozy diary of battling with an FM radio, hooking up a landline phone and the journey of adapting to a brand new way of living from someone who has never disconnected from the World Wide Web.

View the press release here

The book has been published by SYNERGEBOOKS

Buy the audiobook on Audible

Click here to view the product page of the book

To request a review copy click here

Click here to see the author bio

Here is the book on Goodreads

See reviews of this book.

From Off the Grid…

I immediately go still, my brain unable to process what he has just said. A month without using the Internet? A month without Email, Spotify, Pandora, news, Twitter and online conversations? A month without sending any work in except, well… I don’t even know how to send in my work without the Internet.

A month?” I squeak, my fingers gripping the fry harder than intended. I’m so stunned that I don’t even fight back as Marcus gently takes his fry and pops it into his mouth, chewing as he nods. He’s lucky I can see him at the moment.

I NEED the Internet. Literally!” I say, wondering why there can be so many ordinary park sounds around me and this conversation.

I know you do, Robbie.” he says, putting a hand on mine that’s resting on the table. “That will be the fun of it, the challenge of it. Don’t use the Internet for a whole month, and write about it. Keep a live diary of your journal entries and even write down what you see, hear, and experience. Do a running cometary of life without the Internet. Write it all down.”

