When Everything Feels like the Movies

I’ve been added to the Recorded Books press list so reviews will come in from that publisher as well. To briefly talk about the book I have been trying to listen to, however, it’s a book called When Everything Feels like the Movies.
I don’t want to say too much about it because I have only gotten to chapter three at the time of his writing but I made a commitment to write about audio books at the end, or the beginning, of every month, even though I don’t finish them. Here’s the synopsis of the book before I get to talking about what I think about what I’ve heard so far.
School is just like a film set: there’s The Crew, who make things happen; The Extras, who fill the empty desks; and The Movie Stars, whom everyone wants tagged in their Facebook photos. But Jude doesn’t fit in. He’s not part of The Crew because he isn’t about to do anything unless it’s court-appointed; he’s not an Extra because nothing about him is anonymous; and he’s not a Movie Star because even though everyone knows his name like an A-lister, he isn’t invited to the cool parties.
As the director calls action, Jude is the flamer that lights the set on fire. Before everything turns to ashes from the resulting inferno, Jude drags his best friend Angela off the casting couch and into enough melodrama to incite the paparazzi, all while trying to fend off the haters and win the heart of his favorite co-star Luke Morris. It’s a total train wreck! But train wrecks always make the front page.
The narrator is perfect for this role. Not to mention, I can see why they only take agent material. Recorded Books that is. This seems like a fun little comedy that I can, well, eventually, get through! From what I’ve heard thus far, the main characters are well developed but what really makes this book pop is the narrator. He’s golden. I was so angry wen I was interrupted by my apartment mates that I bought a pair of noise canceling headphones for future reading. This post will have an update to it, when I read more of the book, as I don’t think it’s fair to just write about chapter one through three

from When Everything Feels like the Movies

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Book reviewsTags