A Chicago Sun Times editor will have a job interview with me

While I was begging the folks at the financial aid office to please accept my financial aid application without a parents, well, anything, an Email flew into my inbox. Usually, it’s PR people wanting me to review their product or headphones or something, but when I look at the Email, however, all it says is, “phone interview”

Instantly, I am curious. If a journalists spots an intriguing headline their nose will plunge into the content with an eagerness of a troll in training. I couldn’t hit that open button fast enough.

The Email is from a managing editor of the Sun Times Network in Chicago, a network that publishes the Chicago Sun Times and many other publications.

They are launching a new gay and LGBT centric paper, kinda like the competition to the Windy City Times.

Their new website is http://network.suntimes.com/

From the brief glance at it, it looks very flashy and, easy to read, which is something I am almost baffled at. Other news sites place emphasis on things like pop-up ads, and various other visual catches to lure people in without even giving them a cookie.

Pay will be a default, which is a good thing. I’ve been sending in pitch after pitch after cover letter after resume to the Chicago Sun Times for over two years and have not heard back in the slightest until today.

Can I get a big fat woo hoo! Woot woot! The interview will take place tomorrow. I can’t even begin to tell you all how stoked I am!

I just hope they give out cookies to employee of the month. I think I will suggest that at my first staff meeting.

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Personal blog posts