Joining the new SeroTalk team

Currently listening to: First Date by Blink 182

Many strange things can happen on a Sunday evening. For instance, if you live in Chicago and are used to FL weather, you might see strange white flakes gently floating to the ground outside. To all my Florida homies, this is called snow, and to Chicago, it’s not an odd or strange thing at all. It’s as regular as a blind man saying he wants independence while demanding that ADA compliant companies change things to make things more convenient for him, but I digress from my original point.

While strange things happen all the time, unexpected surprises happen as well. Mine arrived in my work Email at about 3 PM my time. The Email was from Joe Orozco at SeroTalk. The subject read, simply put, SeroTalk.

The name sounded familiar as well. I believed I had a fleeting memory of listening to a podcast regarding the company and he was the host of that podcast. My journalistic hackles were raised and I hadn’t even opened up the Email. I did a quick listen to the last episode of the podcast and, sure enough, he was the host of the last episode I heard, the one where the topic was about changes in the company.

The Email that he sent me, however, was a pleasant surprise to say the least.

Joe remembers me quite well, which is why he reached out to me. He even asserts that we had a friendly debate once but I wish I could remember interacting with him. I mostly remember him from Triple Click Home. Anyway, I was ecstatic that he reached out to me. I couldn’t reply fast enough.

With fingers flying so fast I misspelled the word resume, I eagerly agreed. This week, we’re going to coordinate some time to talk on the phone and work out all the rest of the details.

Many people ask, “why am I going to join a company that’s dying and has been for many years now?” In fact, some blind people who I’ve conversed with privately have told me that I’m nuts for joining a failing company.

so. why did I agree, then?

First off, the company is not dying. There’s a difference between dying and shifting direction. The death story is an interesting one to tell, however.

This all began with five former employees tweeting that they were leaving the company. Buddy Brannan, Ricky Enger, Lisa Salinger, Joe Steinkamp, and Richard Wells. Naturally, people who were not journalists and didn’t investigate the tweets, escalated the tweets into a full blown saga with false knowledge. Luckily, 48 hours later, SeroTalk released a statement that explained everything, and, now, the company is changing for the better and they are bringing me along for the ride. What does that mean for me?

It means that I will, hopefully, continue to be a part of this changing company. I know I’m starting out as a volunteer blogger but who knows what can happen. Joe and I are soon to be colleagues together. This worker at SeroTalk reached out to me, and I am extremely grateful. I don’t know what I will be writing about, but the only thing that was hinted at was that he’s looking at broadening the scope of the blog.

I am thrilled that Joe has chosen to incorporate me into this shift. I hope that I will do my community justice, as well as Joe and the team, and focus my journalism skills and investigative flare to empower knowledge and discussion. Naturally, I will do my best. I am ready for this adventurous journey. I want to see what horizons I’m able to see when I sign onto a big player in adaptive technology that has been loyal to it’s customers from day one. I know my skills in investigation and reporting can lend a hand and my diligence will do justice to all.

And that, folks, is why I joined SeroTalk.

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Personal blog posts