The beginning of the end…

Blinded by Beauty

In 2006 I learned that the years of prednisone use had caused my hips to, literally, deteriorate. I was living with Sarcoidosis, recently told I was arthritic and now I had osteo-necrosis of the hips. Unbelievably, I still managed to work a full time job and carry on quite an active social life, as well. My boss, Leeanne, had introduced me to a new crowd who were sushi fanatics so I began spending time with them. I also continued my friendships with the crew from the bookstore and kept up with my friend, Ethan, who protected me from the many hard blows that year by keeping a lot of my time occupied with restaurant-hopping, shopping and movies.

That year I was able to visit Patrick, too. He was now in Fort Lauderdale living with Jeff and was now working on his Doctorate. He was also continuing to work as a…

View original post 1,493 more words

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Uncategorized