I may be a blind sports writer at Yahoo

It’s a Monday morning; I’m sitting at the writing desk with my usual honey tea sitting beside a hot, and dusty, keyboard when an email comes into my email inbox. Oh my god, I gasp as I read the signature of the email before the reply to my internship request. He’s a person in Yahoo sports, and manages the Yahoo sports radio. I also wonder why Microsoft Office Word doesn’t recognize Yahoo. After gawking at the signature like a child I read the body. Quotes leap out at me like a fawn on roller blades. It also hits me that I will be a blind writer working for Yahoo. I’m so eager to do well and show him what I can do that I want to start typing up articles straight away but I read the quotes first.

“You have talent.”

“I think you’d be a great asset to the team.”

“Do you see yourself writing about sports, politics, social issues, or a bit of everything?”

Oh my god! How should I answer that last question?

I’ve never been a sports writer, and I definitely couldn’t tell you who the Chicago bears are, but I have a vast arsenal of verbs and adjectives at my disposal. One good thing about me is that I’m definitely a quick learner. The only reason I’d ever watch boys play sports was so that I could imagine the black players sweat.

Perhaps, though, that I can take on politics. I have a lot of opinions though and I don’t think that will do very well in the political world.

Settling on an answer, I reply with a little bit of everything and then explain the above thought process in a much more formal fashion, leaving out that I think all them tall football players are gorgeous when they race down the field like a pair of runway models.

I look up what sports writers do, and I don’t get very far. Mostly they just say they write about games and stats. At least my verbiage can come in handy when I’m writing about the game events…

There’s a big IF however. What if my college doesn’t accept the internship credit? What then? Will I be denied? I wouldn’t see why Wilbur Wright College wouldn’t accept this kind of internship credit. I’ll just have to wait and see. Waiting… man I need some more tea.

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Uncategorized3 Comments

3 thoughts on “I may be a blind sports writer at Yahoo”

Comments are closed.