My thoughts on rating a video game

It was on a recent application that I was filling out for a reviewer position I saw the words reviewers must RATE their games on a scale of one to ten. Hmm, I mused, I wonder why.

Indeed, why do video game reviewers want to have you write down number ratings at the end of your reviews? I don’t understand how that makes the review better. In my mind, it actually makes the review worse and even worse still, definitive.

As a video game reviewer among other types of media I give my opinion and point of view on a number of things that I, myself, watch in a movie or play in a video game. Afterwards, I sit down and write down what I have seen and why I believe that what I’ve seen works and doesn’t work but I know in the house next to me, or even across Chicago, or even in a different state, someone is doing the exact same thing that I am doing.

When I read reviews, I actually hate looking at the number system that all websites seem to have with every review they publish. I don’t even bother with reading them half the time because the actual review holds all the information that I need, not some two out of 10 rating.

In a review the good is talked about and the bad is talked about as well. Sometimes it’s written well and sometimes it isn’t. That’s what I love about reviews though is that there are many different ways to watch a movie or play a video game and take something away from it. If someone places a rating on it then they are definitively telling us a score that I don’t think can’t be, and shouldn’t be, determined at all.

Even though applications say that they want to have me rate my stuff, I won’t do it because I believe that everything that can be reviewed can’t be squashed in a general rating system that’s going to be different with every person. Plus, it says with absolute that I liked or hated something. I believe that things have good qualities and bad ones as well and I want to write about them but I don’t want to put a final score on anything because that will be like sealing my fate. I refuse to do that. I wonder if there are others like me who share the same sentiment.

A video game can’t be defined by a rating. It’s the review that holds all the ratings, tightly crafted with sentences and explanations

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Uncategorized1 Comment

One thought on “My thoughts on rating a video game”

Comments are closed.