I’m now a special correspondent for Slate & Style: the Magazine of the National Federation of the Blind Writers’ Division

Well, I’ve managed to get my email down to the single digits range! LOL. I think that I’m going to be a 23 year old and play some much-needed Xbox. I’m actually starting to wish that I had a Ps3. I’m realizing that Xbox is robbing me of my cash and checks LOL. The Ps3 has a lot more to offer but the flip side is that I won’t be able to afford that for a while, I could trade however. LOL. I guess I could do that. mm. Good idea!

Anyway, quick news update on me, yay! I’m now a special correspondent for Slate & Style: the Magazine of the National Federation of the Blind Writers’ Division. I just received the email today, and I’m so excited that I can barely keep my eyes open! I’ll be responsible for doing the following:

*Seeking submission requests

*Writing special editorials as directed by the editor

*Potentially assisting with editing duties when necessary

*Assisting with the expansion of Slate & Style

*Helping with the development of this position.

And guess what, it’s yet another thing that I’m not getting paid for but it’s a widely read magazine. I hope that, eventually, if I update all my titles on my social networks, that someone really high up will notice me and pay me for doing all of this, and then some, that I do. I should just publish a book of essays and then retire, LOL. At least that would generate some valuable income, at least.

I finally, finally, FINALLY, got my financial aid all squared away! I’m so excited! Classes are underway, and at least nothing had to come out of my pocket for that. If it would, I’d go insane! LOL.

I’m sitting here, with my eyes dropping like pancakes, wishing that I could have someone’s lap to sit in. I don’t think I’d ever want to own a house, as I am an idiot with plumbing and my husband would have to do all the work while I make funny columns out of him for the local newspaper. Actually, that would be kind of romantic! I’d have the chance to write about his lovely chocolate body working a chainsaw and get paid to do it! Oh my god, if that ever happens I’ll have the best job ever!

It’s so weird! School isn’t even started and I feel as if I need a good long vacation. I think I’ll take a vacation back to FL. HAHAHA! Remember, there’s no place like home! Perhaps I’d eventually want to live in New York, when I get rich enough, actually, correction, IF I ever get rich enough.

In other news I did get a response from the state, they’d keep me in mind when they pass a law to allow Google cars! I feel quite accomplished! They even liked my article in the Windy City Times! I feel even more accomplished. Even though it won’t happen right now I believe that it will happen soon, and I’ll be excited to be at the heart of this new advancement. I’d love to share that with my husband. Ah, speaking of him…

I often think about jus the little things that my husband and I would do that would make our romance special. He’d steer me away from the keyboard, gently guiding me to the bed because he knows that I’ve been working very hard and needs my writing sleep. I’d buy him mismatched flowers, color wise, and he’d never, ever, move the furniture on me. Some people would call that a pipe dream, but it’s the kind of dream that I want to have come true.

Even though I know I’ll be some famous reporter someday, that won’t be my highlight. My highlight would be with my man! I’d still want to come home to my husband, and we sit on the couch eating ice cream, sitting in our favorite chair that will never move on that spot. I think that’s the great American dream. I want to see it come true.

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Uncategorized