‘Words With Girls’: Gay, Ironic and Masterful

words with girls, web series(Editor’s Note: Robert Kingett is AmericasComedy.Com’s Chief Gay Blind Writer Correspondent and is in charge of all the other gay, blind writers at this website. Follow him on Twitter @rkingett and read his blog here.)

I’m a bibliophile. Anyone who knows me could tell you that I’m a stickler for words. What fascinates me even more is a comedy segment featuring either a single word or the use of language. I never thought that I’d see comedy displayed in this kind of medium before, a medium comprised entirely of irony.

I’ve recently taken up a task of wishing. A lot of people tell me if you wish for something it will come true. I’m here to say that all those people are actually correct!

I was wishing, as I was slogging through YouTube, to only land on vlogs where people are actually relaying something half way funny when an email popped into my inbox. Figuring it wasn’t a coincidence I tried this wishing thing again to have no viruses assault me like a drunken elephant. I was rewarded on all accounts.

The email asked me to check out a web series on YouTube that’s plainly called “Words With Girls.” I admit, the title made me apprehensive. Knowing YouTube produces some twat bucket uploads I was hesitant to click on the email that held links to all three episodes. Deciding that I didn’t have any more wishes to lose I clicked, plunging into director Sarah Croce’s creation, aided by writer Brittani Nichols (read our interview with Nichols here).

Having absolutely no prior knowledge of the network Autostraddle.com was a big plus because this show is weirdly funny. It isn’t the South Park kind of weird where people use gay jokes like regular conversation… it’s weirdly funny in the sense that the writer really knows how to use irony. She knows what the word means in all contexts and she unleashes her knowledge on the viewers.

What’s the result? It’s best to briefly examine each episode exclusively. One thing I can say is that if you’re really clever with words then you’ll get a little more out of this show than your illiterate friends will. A certain level of brain requirement is needed to love this show and, trust me; in this day and age that’s a compliment. Brittani Nichols, Lauren Neal, and Hannah Hart are great actresses as well, by the way.

Episode 1: Semi

If I had to pick an episode that I kind of disliked this would be it. One thing I’d like to point out is that it’s impossible to tell who’s who. In this episode, a black girl and white girl walk into a house. The episode titles are great hints and red harings to the jokes ahead. It’s almost like a boomerang winking at you before it wizzes through the sky breakdancing.

Brittani comes in, saying shes making up a new word, playing on the pop culture joke that words are cooler if they’re shortened. She wants to shorten the word super to supes…. This joke is played out for a while then abruptly switches to a different form of “partially joking.” It will just have to be experienced in order to enjoy the partial wit in this episode.

Episode 2: Gussy

Guessy. The action that spoke louder than any of the words in this episode. The ironic pivot in this episode is a glamorous one. Brittani gets in a car with a different girl. The two soon begin a downright chortling conversation about how long it takes them to get ready in the morning. The use of irony to power the theme, implied in the title, makes for delicious chuckling throughout. They soon start complementing one another, enforcing the irony displayed earlier in the episode. Glossy with pretty wisps of truth, this episode, ironically, is the best in the series.

Episode 3: Token

Everything comedy today has to tackle race and ethnicity. Why? Don’t know but it’s like a rule that everyone just consciously knows, like always bring cash when attending Hooters. Words With Girls does it in the best way that I have ever seen.

We’ve all seen the token black guy or girl (typically guy). The token black guy is just placement of something abstract that’s supposed to be a gag. These girls take that concept and flip it on its head, making for hilarious token tickles. Brittani is jealous of another black girl stealing her “blackness” to which a hilarious and semi obtuse dialogue ensues detailing the root of her worries.

It’s so tangible that everyone will giggle at the prudent message hidden within. They twist stereotypes on their head and these women do it in such a way that it’s dastardly delicious. It’s just an experience that can’t be defined in a sentence. Go and experience the superb play on stereotypes.

Conclusion

Most comedies that I view today force me to either find the level the comedian is on and stay on that level or abandon my thoughts completely so I can enjoy their humor. This web series didn’t just rise up to meet my funny bone half way but it displayed it’s intelligence with irony, a clever play on words, and a chic flow of jokes.

In a world flooded with vlogs about farting into the camera, “Words With Girls” is not only a refreshing reminder that words can be comedy but it’s the best example of literary creativity. While not about words specifically it has enough plays on words to warrant it a literary masterpiece that will always hold a special place in my heart.

Why? Because this show commits to a monogamous comedy streak, making sure that irony can once again be loved and appreciated by everyone.

  Visit our AmericasComedy.Com Facebook fan page and follow us on Twitter @AmericasComedy!

via AmericasComedy.Com – Comedy News, Comedian Interviews! » Robert Kingett http://americascomedy.com/words-with-girls-gay-ironic-and-masterful-review-web-series-youtube/

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Uncategorized