An audio description press pass and “Kingett Reads”

Hi all! I’d just like to make a quick update. Well, a few actually, so this blog post will be quite long! I actually have some news that I just want to share, woot!

The first thing that I’d like to pop out of my fingers today, or tonight, however you’re reading this, either through the phone or through the traditional way, get ready, because this totally isn’t real! I’m dreaming! I’m s bouncy that my hair can’t even match my hips.

So the big news that I have for all my lovely readers is this:

I HAVE MY PRESS PASS! It’s even made up of Braille too, and it’s in grade two!

Now let me clarify what these press passes are for.

The ones that I have are for movie theaters and also for theaters here in Chicago. This means that I’ll be subjected to what these professional people call “press night” which means that I will be treated as if I’m royalty for a few hours. I don’t know what happens in the movie theaters yet as I have not had the opportunity t use my theater press pass yet but it’s being shipped! My theater passes have arrived however. I’ll post pictures on Facebook so I can gloat even more.

If you’re a media professional, as they call it, each theater will present what they call a press pass. This press pass will allow you, like I have said, to access a special screening or showing of the play or movie. Unfortunately, I’m sure there haven’t been any audio described plays and movies on press night, and whenever my editor wishes me to go to these events; I make sure to ask about the audio description that’s available in these theaters. Ironically, the passes for the theaters that I have also carry the audio description. They are Steppenwolf Theatre Company, The Victory Gardens Theater, The Goodman Theatre, and the Chicago Shakespeare Theatre.

For confidentiality purposes I can’t tell you what movie passes I got for the movie theaters, but I can tell you all that it’s the theaters here in Chicago actively promote the audio description service for the blind and the visually impaired. It’s going to be exciting! I believe that this will encourage people and business and things to be accessible. If they’re not, they know about it, for sure. They will definitely have to take a new look at providing accessibility to the blind and the visually impaired. By the way, I’ve never experienced a play with audio description. I can’t tell you what I’m going to go see, but it will have audio description.

In other news, I’ll be writing a very interesting column for a new hip magazine here in the next coming weeks. Instead of posting them here, I’ll be posting them to Man of the Hour Magazine. They’ll be re blogged here with a link to the source article. A sample will be posted here. The same thing will be happening for my comedy reviews and interviews for America’s comedy. This new column will be called Kingett Reads, a column where I read books, chapter by chapter and review each chapter without having any knowledge of the book what so ever. I’ll be reading books and commenting on what I read things about the plot, characters, story elements, and overall flow. These will be books that I have never ever read before; everything will be read from classics to modernized books. The books that I’m going to think about starting off with are these.

1984 by George Orwell.

Durango Street by Frank Bonham.

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling.

This should be fun! I can’t wait! Stay tuned everyone for a review of a play with audio description.

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Uncategorized