55 word stories

These are stories that only contain 55 words, and they all have a surprise ending or a hilarious one. I do admit that I may have went a little crazy with my word count on my computer, but what do you expect? Some of these might not be 55 words. Well, anyway, hope that you all enjoy and please save your hate mail until after I graduate. Thanks.

STORY 1.

The need to laugh was tremendous. she could not understand why, but the laughter was getting harder and harder to suppress. With a huge effort she bit down on her cheek, but to no avail. A torrent of laughter burst forth, and the other funeral goers stared at her.

Story 2.

A man faces a choice. He knows equally little about his two options; he wouldn’t be able to tell them apart if he saw them both. It doesn’t matter to him, but the fate of three hundred million is at stake. He closes his eyes, picks a name at random, and exits the voting booth.

STORY 3.

An argument ensues inside a home.

“Orange juice”

“apple juice!”

“orange!”

The twins turn to the third sibling. “What do you think?”

“well, I don’t care. I am a soda drinker, myself.”

STORY 4.

Do I look strange, I wonder, as I sit here counting words? Crossing out and rewording a single phrase and counting again? Do they think, perhaps, I have some kind of obsessive compulsive thing about my word count? Or have I already been written off as weird, and this doesn’t matter?

I really don’t care.

STORY 5…

The temptation to do it is tremendous. She mustn’t! She has been fruitlessly following this path for months. It would be so easy for someone to sway her to the other side right now. She heads for the vending machines. Forget the diet.

STORY 6…

The writer types a string of words that make up the closing lines of a supreme love story. As his fingers stop moving after typing the words “the end” he sighs. He stands up, and trips over a cord. He looks down at the keyboard cord on the floor tangled around his foot, unplugged.

STORY 7…

The dog stared at his options, each he equally hates, but at the same time loves. One human, or the other? The boy or the girl? Which will serve his purpose at getting his target? Who shall he use? Both humans stare at him with leashes in hands, eagerly standing in the Wight room. The dog makes his choice. “I’ll take you.” The dog says talking to the cat. The cat follows him to the vets office.

STORY 8…

She never married. No one understood why. Some say that it was because she hated men, but this was a farce. She dated many of them in her time, but had never proposed. On her death bead, her son had finally asked her why. Her glassy almost dead eyes grew wide as she gasped “I fear cake!” come to think of it, she didn’t like birthdays either.

Published by:

Robert W Kingett

Robert Kingett is a gay blind journalist, and author, with many publications in magazines, anthologies, and blogs. He has judged many writing contests and has won many awards for his writings and advocacy.

Categories Uncategorized